RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Kerry Gilbert has been named the 2008 Katy Area
- 2 Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The Citizen of the Year award is given to
- 4 individuals who demonstrate exceptional leadership qualities and a
- 5 strong desire to give back to the local community; and
- 6 WHEREAS, A Houston native, Kerry Gilbert graduated from
- 7 Spring Branch High School and studied architecture at the
- 8 University of Houston; he took a position with the City of Houston
- 9 Planning and Development Department after graduation and worked his
- 10 way up to assistant director; while with the department, Mr.
- 11 Gilbert undertook and completed a project to establish planning
- 12 ordinances for Houston, at that time the largest U.S. city without
- 13 zoning statutes; this work was recognized in the New York Times, and
- 14 he was named Planner of the Year by the American Planning
- 15 Association; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Gilbert cofounded the firm Kerry R. Gilbert &
- 17 Associates in 1985 and focused on large land planning projects in
- 18 Katy; this innovative and enterprising businessman has been a part
- 19 of nearly every major residential development in the area, and he
- 20 has also worked closely with the school district to create quality
- 21 educational facilities for the city's residents; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Kerry Gilbert has played a large and positive role
- 23 in shaping the city of Katy through his tireless efforts as a
- 24 planner and developer, and his outstanding work has been duly

- 1 recognized with this prestigious citizenship award; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Kerry Gilbert on his selection as
- 5 the 2008 Katy Area Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year and
- 6 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 7 further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Mr. Gilbert as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Callegari

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 522 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House