H.R. No. 531

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A distinguished career in education and the arts is 2 drawing to a close at the end of the 2008-2009 school year as E. A. 3 Tanner retires as choir director at Rowe High School in McAllen; and WHEREAS, Called "Amby" by his friends and colleagues, Mr. 4 5 Tanner has built a distinguished reputation during his tenure at Rowe, and the much-anticipated musicals performed by the choir have 6 played to capacity crowds each year since 1993, with tickets 7 frequently selling out soon after they go on sale; and 8

9 WHEREAS, Under Mr. Tanner's direction, the shows feature 10 superb singing that is enhanced by colorful costumes and innovative 11 staging, and his assured management has consistently inspired the 12 choir members to perform at the peak of their abilities; and

WHEREAS, Amby Tanner has made invaluable contributions to the McAllen community and the students of Rowe High School, and it is indeed a pleasure to pay tribute to his notable career as he embarks on an exciting new chapter in his life; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 18 Legislature hereby congratulate E. A. Tanner on his retirement as 19 choir director at Rowe High School and extend to him sincere best 20 wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for Mr. Tanner as an expression of high regard by the Texas 23 House of Representatives.

Gonzales

1

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Straus

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 531

H.R. No. 531

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 531 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House