RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Waco Day is taking place at the State Capitol on 2 February 24, 2009, and this occasion provides a welcome opportunity

3 to pay tribute to this notable Texas community; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1849, Waco played a central role in the

development of the Lone Star State in the 1800s, serving as a center

6 for cotton farming, as a stopping point for the cowboys on the

7 Chisholm Trail, and as a thriving transportation and marketing hub;

8 by the mid-1900s, it had grown into an important manufacturing

9 center, and in recent decades, it has seen diverse businesses such

10 as health care and aerospace make significant contributions to the

11 prosperity of its citizens; tourism, too, is important to Waco,

12 with favorite attractions such as the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and

13 Texas Rangers Hall of Fame and Museum drawing visitors to the city;

14 and

5

WHEREAS, Throughout its history, education has been a key

16 element in Waco's success; Baylor University has been part of the

17 city since 1887, and Texas State Technical College and McLennan

18 Community College have further boosted the town's reputation as a

19 place of learning, research, and innovation; and

20 WHEREAS, A fitting symbol of the city's forward-thinking

21 attitude is the new home of the Greater Waco Chamber of Commerce,

22 which opened in June 2008; specifically designed to qualify for

23 gold-level certification from the U.S. Green Building Council, it

24 incorporates a range of innovative features to create an

- 1 environmentally sensitive landmark that is serving as a model for
- 2 additional sustainable construction projects; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Waco's advantageous business conditions are
- 4 spurring economic development in various ways; in 2008 alone,
- 5 numerous companies initiated new endeavors in the city or expanded
- 6 existing operations; moreover, the dynamic business community in
- 7 the greater Waco area has developed a strategic plan for future
- 8 economic advancement and is focusing on attracting a number of
- 9 target industries to the city; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Even as they look optimistically to the future, area
- 11 residents still take pleasure in the town's enduring attractions,
- 12 including its high quality of life and the scenic surroundings of
- 13 Lake Waco and other pleasant cityscapes; these features further
- 14 demonstrate the appeal of the Waco community, which is continuing
- 15 to make vital contributions to the Lone Star State, as it has for
- 16 160 years; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby recognize February 24, 2009, as Waco Day at the
- 19 State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for
- 20 an enjoyable and productive visit to Austin.

Anderson

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 552 was adopted by the House on February 24, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House