## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Washington County are gathering
- 2 in Austin on February 24, 2009, to celebrate the unique role their
- 3 county has played in the history and ongoing development of the Lone
- 4 Star State; and
- 5 WHEREAS, This region of rolling prairie just west of the
- 6 Brazos River was first inhabited by the Tamique and Xaraname
- 7 peoples; the French explorer La Salle and his party, who are thought
- 8 to have passed through the area in the 1680s, may have been the
- 9 first European visitors; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In 1821, settlers recruited by Stephen F. Austin
- 11 began to homestead the region; during the Texas Revolution, the
- 12 ferry crossing known as Washington-on-the-Brazos became the
- 13 headquarters of General Sam Houston and the site of the Convention
- 14 of 1836, which declared the independence of Texas; the town was the
- 15 capital of the new republic from 1842 to 1845; and
- WHEREAS, Washington County was organized in 1837, and Brenham
- 17 became the county seat in 1844; the county's prospects were
- 18 improved by the thousands of immigrants from Germany and Poland who
- 19 arrived during the 1860s and 1870s, and its economy was further
- 20 spurred by the arrival of the railroad in 1880; in those years,
- 21 cotton, corn, and poultry were the region's mainstays; and
- WHEREAS, The area played an important role in the history of
- 23 higher education in Texas; Baylor University was founded in the
- 24 county in 1846, and in 1855 Soule University, a precursor to

- 1 Southwestern University, was founded in Chappell Hill; today, Blinn
- 2 College in Brenham carries on this proud tradition; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Washington County's central role in the history of
- 4 Texas draws visitors from across the state; the Star of the Republic
- 5 Museum, Independence Hall, and the Barrington Living History Farm
- 6 at the Washington-on-the-Brazos State Historic Site vividly evoke
- 7 the years of the Texas Republic; the Chappell Hill Historic
- 8 District includes a folk art collection, a Masonic cemetery, and a
- 9 restored Baptist parsonage; the building housing the Brenham
- 10 Heritage Museum is also a venerable landmark and is listed on the
- 11 National Register of Historic Places; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Other popular attractions include the recreation
- 13 opportunities of Lake Somerville, the eight-acre garden at the
- 14 Antique Rose Emporium, and the county's scenic country roads; every
- 15 year, thousands of people take the tour of Blue Bell Creameries,
- 16 where one of the nation's best-selling brands of ice cream is made;
- 17 and
- 18 WHEREAS, Honoring their rich history even as they work to
- 19 build a bright future, the residents of Washington County have many
- 20 reasons to be proud of the place they call home; now, therefore, be
- 21 it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize February 24, 2009, as Washington
- 24 County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 25 delegation sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and memorable stay
- 26 in Austin.

Kolkhorst

Gattis Menendez Straus Geren Allen Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Miller of Comal Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Morrison Aycock Berman Hamilton Naishtat Bohac Hancock Oliveira Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Harper-Brown Branch Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Hochberg Castro Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Hopson Pitts Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cohen Quintanilla Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Crabb Isett Ritter Jackson Craddick Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Sheffield Keffer Crownover Kent Shelton Darby Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III Madden Turner of Harris England Farabee Maldonado Vaught Veasey Farias Mallory Caraway Marquez Villarreal Farrar Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores Flynn McCall Weber

Woolley

McClendon

McReynolds

Frost Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 561 was adopted by the House on February 24, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House