RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the government honors program at The
- 2 University of Texas at Dallas are visiting the State Capitol on
- 3 March 3, 2009, to gain further insight into the workings of state
- 4 government; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The School of Economic, Political and Policy
- 6 Sciences at UTD offers outstanding programs in such challenging
- 7 disciplines as political science, public affairs, public policy,
- 8 and political economy; the university has won recognition for its
- 9 commitment to fostering interest in state government, policy
- 10 making, and civic responsibility among students in the school's
- 11 Collegium V Honors Program and the McDermott Scholars Program
- 12 through the Center for the Study of Texas Politics; and
- WHEREAS, The accomplished young men and women who are
- 14 currently studying Texas politics and leadership in these programs
- 15 have demonstrated the impressive drive and commitment that will
- 16 continue to serve them well beyond their days at UTD, and it is
- 17 indeed appropriate to honor the university and these future leaders
- 18 of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby commend The University of Texas at Dallas for
- 21 the rich educational opportunities that it offers and extend an
- 22 official welcome to the university's president, Dr. David Daniel,
- 23 to the director of the Center for the Study of Texas Politics,
- 24 Professor Greg Thielemann, and to the members of the government

1 honors program visiting on this day.

Madden

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 567 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House