H.R. No. 568

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Students participating in the McDermott Scholars 2 Program are visiting the State Capitol on March 31, 2009, and this 3 occasion provides a fitting opportunity to recognize this 4 outstanding program; and

5 WHEREAS, Since its establishment in the fall of 2000, the 6 McDermott Scholars Program has sought to build a brighter future 7 for Texans by attracting top students from throughout the state and 8 across the nation to pursue their higher education at The 9 University of Texas at Dallas; and

10 WHEREAS, The program, initiated by Margaret McDermott and 11 named for her husband and the cofounder of Texas Instruments, 12 Eugene McDermott, selects participants who have demonstrated a 13 commitment to academic excellence, community service, and 14 leadership both on and off campus; and

WHEREAS, Through private endowment funds, these young men and 15 16 women are presented with the opportunity to share in leadership training, fine arts education, and invaluable travel experiences, 17 including regular visits to the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, the 18 Dallas Opera, local museums, art galleries, plays, and concerts; in 19 20 addition, first-year scholars are invited on trips to Austin and 21 Washington, D.C., to meet with elected officials and experience the cultural diversity of our state's and nation's capitals; and 22

23 WHEREAS, McDermott Scholars represent our next generation of 24 business leaders, scientists, physicians, professors, attorneys,

1

H.R. No. 568

1 and public servants, and they may indeed look to the future with 2 anticipation and optimism as they await the opportunities that lie 3 ahead; now, therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 5 Legislature hereby commend Dr. David Daniel, president of UT-Dallas, Molly Seeligson, director of the Eugene McDermott 6 7 Scholars Program, Dr. Greg Thielemann, professor and director of the Center for the Study of Texas Politics, and all those associated 8 with the McDermott Scholars Program for their commitment to 9 education and community service and extend to them sincere best 10 wishes for continued success; and, be it further 11

RESOLVED, That the house of representatives welcome the McDermott Scholars Program delegation visiting on this day and that an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the program as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Madden

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 568

H.R. No. 568

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 568 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House