RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Family and a host of friends are mourning the
- 2 untimely loss of U.S. Army Specialist Brandon A. Meyer of Canyon,
- 3 who died in Iraq on January 28, 2008, at the age of 20; and
- WHEREAS, A gunner with the 1st Battalion, 8th Infantry
- 5 Regiment, Specialist Meyer was an Airborne-trained expert marksman
- 6 based at Fort Carson in Colorado Springs, Colorado; he was mortally
- 7 wounded while riding in a convoy near his station in Mosul; and
- 8 WHEREAS, This courageous young man was born on February 3,
- 9 1987, in Beatrice, Nebraska; he spent his childhood in St. Louis,
- 10 Missouri, and in 2001 moved to Canyon, where he attended high
- 11 school; after graduating in 2005, he studied biology at Concordia
- 12 University in California before enlisting in January 2007, out of a
- 13 desire to defend his country; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Through his unfaltering devotion to duty, honor, and
- 15 this country, Specialist Meyer embodied the highest ideals of the
- 16 United States armed forces, and the blessing of his life will be
- 17 forever cherished by those who were privileged to share in his love
- 18 and affection; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Specialist Brandon
- 21 A. Meyer and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family:
- 22 to his parents, Terry and Genia Meyer; to his sister, Desiree Meyer;
- 23 and to all those who mourn his passing; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 2 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Specialist
- 3 Brandon A. Meyer.

Smithee Swinford Chisum

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 576 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 24, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House