## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Harlingen Area Builders Association
- 2 are gathering at the State Capitol on February 25, 2009; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Founded in 2005, HABA is a nonprofit organization
- 4 focused on uniting Harlingen area builders and educating citizens
- 5 as well as professionals in the industry about important
- 6 construction issues; the association also provides its members
- 7 opportunities for networking and organizes projects to assist local
- 8 charitable groups; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Initiatives created and promoted by HABA include a
- 10 home show, the New Home Tour, and a scholarship program to benefit
- 11 students completing building and technology studies at Texas State
- 12 Technical College; the association also gives its support to the
- 13 Ronald McDonald House, the Family Crisis Center, and the Children's
- 14 Center at Valley Baptist Medical Center, and it helps build
- 15 handicap ramps and carries out other socially responsible
- 16 endeavors; and
- WHEREAS, By joining forces to help strengthen their industry,
- 18 the members of HABA are contributing to economic prosperity in
- 19 South Texas while also assisting worthwhile community causes, and
- 20 their actions are indeed deserving of recognition; now, therefore,
- 21 be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby welcome the Harlingen Area Builders Association
- 24 to the State Capitol and extend to its members sincere best wishes

- 1 for continued success; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Rios Ybarra Lucio III

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 582 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House