H.R. No. 586

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the American Federation of State, County
- 2 and Municipal Employees Corrections Council 7 in Huntsville have
- 3 distinguished themselves through their generous assistance to
- 4 correctional officers affected by Hurricane Ike; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In the aftermath of the hurricane, union members
- 6 began coordinating efforts to help correctional officers located in
- 7 the devastated Gulf Coast region; they collected and prepared a
- 8 variety of essential goods, including food, ice, water, and hygiene
- 9 kits, and distributed them to officers in Beaumont, Dayton, Texas
- 10 City, and Angleton; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The contributions of these caring public servants
- 12 remind us that many individuals working together for a noble
- 13 purpose define the best sense of community and that the strength of
- 14 a society can be judged by its response to those in need; now,
- 15 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby commend the members of the American Federation
- 18 of State, County and Municipal Employees Corrections Council 7 for
- 19 their Hurricane Ike relief efforts and recognize them for their
- 20 commitment to their fellow officers; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for the American Federation of State, County and Municipal
- 23 Employees Corrections Council 7 as an expression of high regard by
- 24 the Texas House of Representatives.

Kolkhorst

## H.R. No. 586

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Anderson Guillen Moody Aycock Gutierrez Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Bohac Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bolton Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Harper-Brown Branch Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Hochberg Castro Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Pierson Chisum Homer Christian Hopson Pitts Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Hunter Rios Ybarra Corte Crabb Isett Ritter Craddick Jackson Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Crownover Keffer Sheffield Kent Shelton Darby Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz  ${\tt Thompson}$ Lewis Eissler Truitt Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III England Madden Turner of Harris Farabee Maldonado Vaught Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Marquez Villarreal Farrar Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores Flynn McCall Weber Frost McClendon Woolley

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

TT	$\Box$	TAT -	586
н	R	$N \cap$	コスカ

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 586 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House