H.R. No. 587

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, An outstanding team reached the pinnacle of its
- 2 sport when the Lady Buccaneers of Blinn College captured the 2008
- 3 National Junior College Athletic Association Division 1 national
- 4 championship in volleyball on November 22 in Council Bluffs, Iowa;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, The Lady Bucs' championship win over the University
- 7 of Arkansas at Fort Smith came after a harrowing first two sets that
- 8 put the Blinn women behind 2-0; the team's focus and determination
- 9 helped it to battle back, however, and it won the last three sets to
- 10 take the match; the triumph capped an exceptional season of 33 wins
- 11 and only 2 losses, with many of the victories coming as three-set
- 12 sweeps; and
- WHEREAS, This season's exceptional accomplishments resulted
- 14 from the combined efforts of all the team members, including
- 15 freshmen Angela McAdams, Lakeshia Craft, Elizaveta Senenkova,
- 16 Christy Hodge, Katelyn Rohan, Keidra Williams, Cinthya Roberto, and
- 17 Hivya Leite, and sophomores Lori Hunsucker, Korinne Stinson,
- 18 Jennifer Goodwin, Kara Stinson, Laura Twedell, and Kayla Schmidt;
- 19 moreover, Ms. Schmidt was honored by the American Volleyball
- 20 Coaches Association as the 2008 Two-Year Colleges National Player
- 21 of the Year; and
- WHEREAS, Head coach David Rehr provided assured leadership
- 23 throughout the season, inspiring his players to realize the dream
- 24 of a national title; he was ably supported by assistant coach Brian

H.R. No. 587

- 1 Froebel, a Blinn graduate in his first year as Coach Rehr's
- 2 full-time assistant; and
- WHEREAS, Winning a national championship represents the
- 4 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering
- 5 commitment to teamwork, and the student-athletes of the Lady
- 6 Buccaneers volleyball team will carry the memory of this
- 7 accomplishment with them for the rest of their lives; now,
- 8 therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby congratulate the coaches and players of the
- 11 Blinn College Lady Buccaneers volleyball team on winning the 2008
- 12 NJCAA Division 1 national volleyball championship and extend to
- 13 them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 16 House of Representatives.

Kolkhorst

H.R. No. 587

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

TT	ח	NT ~	E 0 7
Н	ĸ	$N \cap$	78/

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 587 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House