RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dentists from across the state are gathering at the
- 2 Capitol on February 25, 2009, to celebrate Texas Dental Association
- 3 Day; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The TDA is the third largest state dental
- 5 association in the United States, currently serving nearly 8,000
- 6 members; chartered in 1871, it is part of a tripartite affiliation,
- 7 with the American Dental Association as its national representative
- 8 and its component societies at the local level; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Governed by two bodies, the TDA has a 22-member
- 10 board of directors and a House of Delegates made up of 119 members;
- 11 the 20 councils and committees of the association serve as
- 12 policy-recommending agencies; and
- 13 WHEREAS, This notable group's official publication, the
- 14 Texas Dental Journal, has been distributed since 1883 and is the
- 15 oldest operating dental periodical in the Americas; and
- WHEREAS, Since its inception, TDA has supported countless
- 17 Texas dentists in their important work, while promoting excellence
- 18 in the profession, and this event provides a fitting opportunity to
- 19 honor the organization and its members; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby recognize February 25, 2009, as Texas Dental
- 22 Association Day and welcome visiting members to the State Capitol;
- 23 and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 2 House of Representatives.

Rios Ybarra Parker Marquez

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 604 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House