H.R. No. 607

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize February 25, 2009, as Pearland Day at the State Capitol; 3 and

WHEREAS, Pearland is located in Brazoria County; it was 4 originally established as Mark Belt in 1893, but in November of that 5 year, its name was changed to Pearland to reflect the large quantity 6 of pear trees in the area; by 1898, the town had a newspaper, 12 7 businesses, and 75 residents, but two years later, its growth 8 9 slowed considerably when it was hit by the Galveston hurricane (known as the Storm of 1900--the big one before Ike) and many of its 10 11 fruit trees were destroyed; after the storm, the planting of 12 oranges and figs helped revive local agriculture, until the freeze of 1918 caused another wave of damage; Pearland bounced back a 13 14 second time, however, and in 1934, oil and gas were discovered in the area, prompting significant growth in the decades that 15 followed; and 16

WHEREAS, Today, the population of Pearland is nearly 90,000; 17 despite its proximity to its chief suburb, Houston, and such 18 landmarks as the Johnson Space Center and Galveston Beach, Pearland 19 maintains its own unique character and its residents enjoy a 20 21 distinctly different lifestyle; in 1999, it was named an All-America City by the National Civic League, and its notable 22 23 attractions include Cole's Antiques and Flea Market, which features more than 600 dealers from across the state, and Pearland Town 24

1

H.R. No. 607

1 Center and the Presidential Heads sculptures; and

2 WHEREAS, With a colorful history, an abundance of natural 3 resources, and a small-town feel, Pearland is a desirable community 4 in which to live, work, and raise a family, and its residents may 5 indeed take justifiable pride in the place they call home; now, 6 therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
8 Legislature hereby express appreciation to the citizens of Pearland
9 for their contributions to the Lone Star State and extend a warm
10 welcome to all those who are present at the Capitol today.

Weber

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 607

H.R. No. 607

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 607 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House