H.R. No. 611

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2009 marks the 100th anniversary of Texas 2 PTA, and this momentous occasion provides a welcome opportunity to 3 honor the organization for its myriad efforts in behalf of 4 children, families, and schools; and

5 WHEREAS, Texas PTA has served Texas parents, students, school 6 administrators, and teachers since its inception on October 19, 7 1909; today, more than 600,000 members are involved in the 8 organization, which includes nearly 3,000 local PTAs across the 9 state; and

WHEREAS, Ella Caruthers Porter formed the first mother's club 10 11 in 1896 in Hillsboro and went on to establish a Texas branch of the 12 National Congress of Mothers in 1909 at the State Fair of Texas in Dallas; early on, members of Texas PTA worked to raise awareness 13 14 about the conditions affecting children's lives through a variety of educational campaigns; in addition, they advocated for the 15 16 establishment of kindergartens and the creation of a child welfare commission, and they urged laws promoting the health of public 17 18 school students; and

WHEREAS, From its humble beginnings a century ago, Texas PTA has become a champion for the education and well-being of every child and a vital resource for families and communities, and the state is indeed a better place for the tireless contributions of its many members; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

1 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of Texas PTA 2 and commend its members, both past and present, for their work to 3 ensure the quality of education for the children of Texas; and, be 4 it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Texas PTA as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

> Pitts McReynolds

H.R. No. 611

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

## H.R. No. 611

Menendez

H.R. No. 611

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 611 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House