H.R. No. 616

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Citizens of Grimes County are coming together at the
- 2 State Capitol to celebrate Grimes County Day on March 5, 2009; and
- 3 WHEREAS, A landscape of lush forests and verdant savannah,
- 4 the area that would later become Grimes County was inhabited by the
- 5 Bidai people when Europeans first arrived in the region in the late
- 6 1600s; it is thought that the famous French explorer La Salle met
- 7 his untimely end near present-day Navasota in 1687, murdered by his
- 8 own men; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In the 1820s, Anglo settlers began to move into the
- 10 region, drawn by the rich bottomlands along the Navasota and Brazos
- 11 Rivers; one of the first cotton crops in Texas was planted in the
- 12 county, and with Anderson as its county seat, Grimes County was
- 13 established in 1846 and named after Jesse Grimes, a signer of the
- 14 Texas Declaration of Independence; and
- WHEREAS, The arrival of the railroad in 1859 helped promote
- 16 the growth of Navasota as a center of commerce, while two spas
- 17 established in the 1850s, Kellum Springs and Piedmont Springs, drew
- 18 many visitors to the county; and
- WHEREAS, Today, the area's prosperity is based on livestock,
- 20 agribusiness, and light manufacturing; the harvesting of timber,
- 21 lignite coal, and natural gas also contributes to the economy of the
- 22 region; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Officially designated the Blues Capital of Texas by
- 24 the 79th Texas Legislature in 2005, Navasota hosts the annual

H.R. No. 616

- 1 BluesFest to commemorate the famous blues musician and native son
- 2 Mance Lipscomb and to raise money for a scholarship in his name; the
- 3 town is equally renowned for its picturesque downtown and
- 4 Victorian-style houses, and its history is showcased in the Horlock
- 5 History Center, a restored 1892 home; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Anderson boasts the striking Grimes County
- 7 Courthouse, constructed of handmade bricks in 1894 and restored in
- 8 2002; the town is also home to the Fanthorp Inn State Historic Site,
- 9 a restored 19th-century stagecoach stop that hosted such famous
- 10 figures as Sam Houston, Robert E. Lee, and Stonewall Jackson; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy the colorful
- 12 Texas Renaissance Festival in Plantersville every October and
- 13 November; another popular attraction is Gibbons Creek Reservoir,
- 14 which offers ample recreational opportunities for fishing,
- 15 camping, boating, and waterskiing; and
- WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich history as they look forward
- 17 to a bright future, the people of Grimes County are justifiably
- 18 proud of their heritage and achievements, and their county's many
- 19 contributions to the ongoing development of the Lone Star State are
- 20 indeed deserving of special honor; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize March 5, 2009, as Grimes County Day at
- 23 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 24 best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Kolkhorst

H.R. No. 616

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

TT	_	7. T	~ 1	
Н	-	NΟ	6	6

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 616 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House