H.R. No. 634

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Osteopathic physicians from across the Lone Star
State are gathering in Austin on February 26, 2009, to commemorate
Osteopathic Medicine Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Osteopathic physicians are committed to meeting the needs of the whole person and the whole family, and they share the philosophical belief that home, work, and spiritual and social environments have a significant impact on a patient's health and well-being; and

9 WHEREAS, The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine, the cornerstone of the University of North Texas Health Science Center, 10 11 continues to train physicians who enter this field in numbers well 12 above the national average for medical school programs, and many go on to offer primary care through family, general, internal 13 14 medicine, OB/GYN, and pediatric practices; they also provide preventive and public health services, as well as an entire 15 spectrum of specialty care; there are currently 3,700 licensed 16 physicians in Texas who practice osteopathic medicine, including 17 growing numbers of women and Hispanic, Asian, and African 18 19 Americans; and

20 WHEREAS, Texas osteopathic physicians serve their country as 21 members of the United States armed forces; they also practice in 22 rural and medically underserved areas of the state, and in some 23 instances, they are the only doctors in their respective counties; 24 a number of these dedicated professionals are providing medical

1

1 care to Texas legislators and their staffs as participants in the 2 Doctor of the Day program at the State Capitol during the week of 3 February 23 to February 27, 2009; and

WHEREAS, Practitioners of osteopathic medicine play a vital role in maintaining the health and well-being of countless Texans, and they may indeed reflect with pride on their myriad contributions to this state; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 9 Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2009, as Osteopathic 10 Medicine Day at the State Capitol and extend to all the state's 11 osteopathic physicians and medical students sincere appreciation 12 for their efforts to provide quality, comprehensive, and 13 personalized care.

Geren

H.R. No. 634

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 634

Menendez

H.R. No. 634

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 634 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House