H.R. No. 668

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 join the citizens of Jefferson and Orange Counties in the 3 celebration of Golden Triangle Days at the State Capitol on March 1 4 to 3, 2009; and

5 WHEREAS, More than 300 visitors from throughout the Golden Triangle, the energy-rich and culturally unique region of Southeast 6 Texas formed by the cities of Beaumont, Orange, and Port Arthur, 7 have come to Austin to meet with elected officials 8 and representatives of various state agencies to express appreciation 9 for work already done on behalf of the region as well as to 10 11 communicate with lawmakers about opportunities to further 12 strengthen the state and its respective communities; and

WHEREAS, Residents of Orange and Jefferson Counties have gathered for this and other activities in order to work together effectively and cohesively for the good of their region and the great State of Texas; to that end, the chambers of commerce of Beaumont, Bridge City, Groves, Nederland, Orange, Port Arthur, Port Neches, and Vidor have combined forces to identify and address relevant issues with a single voice; and

20 WHEREAS, The area chambers of commerce work closely with 21 Jefferson and Orange Counties, along with their respective cities, 22 other taxing entities, business organizations, and the community at 23 large to recognize the needs and concerns of the entire citizenry 24 with its great diversity and varying socioeconomic levels; and

1

## H.R. No. 668

1 WHEREAS, Orange and Jefferson Counties were devastated by 2 Hurricane Ike on September 13, 2008, just three years after 3 Hurricane Rita tore a similar path of destruction through the 4 region, but the counties have made great strides to recover and 5 continue with the \$15 to \$20 billion of industrial expansion and 6 growth devoted to supplying the energy needs of the State of Texas 7 and the nation; and

WHEREAS, The distinctive cultural and historic contributions 8 of this proud region are highlighted by numerous museums and 9 10 tourist attractions and are matched only by the region's economic contributions featuring America's Energy Gateway, the deepwater 11 ports and terminals of the Sabine-Neches Waterway, 12 Lamar University, Lamar State College-Orange, Lamar State College-Port 13 14 Arthur, the Lamar Institute of Technology, and many other assets 15 that significantly affect the growth and health of the state; and

16 WHEREAS, The people of Orange and Jefferson Counties have 17 been building a vibrant, forward-reaching region, and it is a 18 pleasure to acknowledge the public-spirited citizens from the 19 Golden Triangle here today for their dedication and commitment to 20 their communities and our great state; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 22 Legislature hereby recognize March 1 to 3, 2009, as Golden Triangle 23 Days at the State Capitol and warmly welcome the region's visitors 24 to Austin.

## Hamilton

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 668

H.R. No. 668

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 668 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House