H.R. No. 671

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Mayor John David Franz of Hidalgo has been justly 2 honored for his dedication to the prosperity of his community with 3 his selection as Border Texan of the Year for 2009 by the Hidalgo 4 Chamber of Commerce; and

5 WHEREAS, Born in McAllen, John Franz attended school in 6 Hidalgo before graduating from McAllen High School at the age of 16; 7 he was appointed to a judgeship on the Hidalgo Municipal Court at 8 age 18, and he began his tenure as mayor in 1990; and

9 WHEREAS, Mayor Franz has worked tirelessly to improve the quality of life for the citizens of Hidalgo during his time in 10 11 office and has furthered that goal by taking a leadership role in 12 numerous civic organizations; he is president of the City of Hidalgo Texas Municipal Facilities Corporation and has served as a 13 14 director of the Hidalgo Economic Development Corporation since his first year as mayor; moreover, he is a member of the boards of 15 directors for both the Anzalduas and the McAllen-Hidalgo-Reynosa 16 International Bridges and has contributed to numerous committees of 17 economic and social significance to the region; his attention to 18 statewide issues has included a six-year term on the Texas Board of 19 20 Criminal Justice; and

21 WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, John Franz has proven 22 himself an assured leader who has helped guide his city through an 23 era of tremendous growth and change, and his efforts have had an 24 enduring and positive impact on South Texas; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 671

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Mayor John David Franz on his 3 selection as 2009 Border Texan of the Year and extend to him sincere 4 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mayor Franz as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Flores

H.R. No. 671

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 671 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House