H.R. No. 682

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Knights of Peter Claver and the members of its 2 ladies auxiliary, Council and Court No. 72, are hosting their 3 annual scholarship luncheon and fashion gala in Houston on March 7, 4 2009; and

5 WHEREAS, This highly anticipated event provides an opportunity each year to recognize the contributions of this 6 7 notable group, which has long assisted the economically disadvantaged, the sick, and the disabled, while succeeding in its 8 9 goals to encourage and support higher education and to train and 10 develop civic leaders; and

11 WHEREAS, Attendees participating in the 2009 event are also 12 honoring deserving "Pioneers in the Community," men and women who embody the ideals of the organization and who serve as role models 13 14 for youths and leaders of their communities; this year's honorees include John Andress, Dr. Ann C. Smith Barnes, Joseph Cormier, 15 Anthony Earnest Boggess Glover, Stephanie Trouiller Johnson, Harry 16 Jolivette, the Honorable Jolanda Jones, Barbara Mouton Murray, Alma 17 Omowaleuthbli, Mary Ida Reed, Chaire D. Shynett, and Jearldine 18 Woodard; and 19

20 WHEREAS, The Knights of Peter Claver and the members of its 21 ladies auxiliary are to be commended for their devotion to helping 22 their fellow Texans, as are their esteemed guests of honor, who have 23 truly distinguished themselves as exceptional citizens; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

## H.R. No. 682

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 2009 annual scholarship 3 luncheon and fashion gala and congratulate the Knights of Peter 4 Claver and its ladies auxiliary, Council and Court No. 72, as well 5 as the "Pioneers in the Community," for their remarkable 6 achievements; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

## Dutton

H.R. No. 682

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 682 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House