RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Our esteemed colleague, the Honorable Armando 2 Walle, is celebrating his 31st birthday on March 7, 2009, and this 3 occasion provides a welcome opportunity to recognize one of our 4 own; and

5 WHEREAS, A native of the Lone Star State, Armando Walle was 6 born in northeast Houston and raised by a single mother; the oldest 7 of five children, he graduated with honors from MacArthur High 8 School and became the first in his family to pursue a college 9 education; and

WHEREAS, This admirable young man attended the University of Houston, and while earning his bachelor's degree in political science, he mentored at-risk high school students through Students Aspiring to a Better Education; he also worked with the Center for Mexican American Studies, where, as the assistant to the associate director, he helped the school recruit and retain qualified Hispanic students; and

WHEREAS, Representative Walle began his career in public service as a participant in Senator Rodney Ellis's Texas Legislative Internship Program in the office of Houston City Council member Carol Mims Galloway; he went on to serve on the staff of Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee before joining the office of Congressman Gene Green; and

23 WHEREAS, During his notable tenure with Representative 24 Green, Mr. Walle led a number of community initiatives, including

1

an immunization day, instructional workshops on paying for college, and forums addressing senior citizen issues; in addition, he gained a wealth of knowledge and experience in working with the Port of Houston Authority, Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration, and Harris County Flood Control District; and

7 WHEREAS, Armando Walle took office in January 2009, 8 representing the constituents of House District 140, and he has recently been appointed to the Human Services, Rules 9 and Regulations, and Urban Affairs Committees; he has further served 10 his community as a member of the Aldine-Greenspoint YMCA board of 11 12 directors, as president of the Ambassadors International Ballet Folklorico, and as chair of the Harris County Tejano Democrats; and 13

WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, he has been blessed with the loving support of his wife, Debbie, a fellow Aldine native; active members of St. Charles Borromeo Catholic Church in Houston, the couple are celebrating their second wedding anniversary on March 3, 2009; and

WHEREAS, Committed to improving the lives of his fellow Texans, Representative Walle embodies the highest standards of public service, and he has justly garnered the respect and admiration of his neighbors, friends, and colleagues; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the Honorable Armando Walle on the occasion of his 31st birthday and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success in all of his endeavors; and, be it

2

1 further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for Representative Walle as an expression of high regard 4 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hernandez

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 693

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 693 was adopted by the House on March 3, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House