H.R. No. 704

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For 100 years, families have come together to
 worship at First Baptist Church in Carrollton; and

3 WHEREAS, Since its establishment in 1909, First Baptist 4 Church has played a vital role in the community, providing its 5 members with myriad opportunities for spiritual growth, 6 fellowship, and community outreach; in addition to active student 7 and senior ministries, the church offers a bus to bring children to 8 worship services each week; and

9 WHEREAS, This notable North Texas institution has 3,700 10 members and has purchased more than 100 acres of land for future 11 expansion, which will include a sports ministry complex; and

12 WHEREAS, The congregation has been blessed with many 13 compassionate and able leaders through the decades, such as Dr. 14 Wayne Allen, who led First Baptist for 34 years; today, that legacy continues with the inspired teachings of Dr. Brent Taylor; a 15 graduate of Baylor University, he earned his master's degree from 16 Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth and his 17 18 doctorate from The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, Kentucky; he served at Prestonwood Baptist Church in 19 Dallas and First Baptist Church in Hebron before joining his 20 21 current church home; and

WHEREAS, First Baptist Church in Carrollton has long served as a source of strength and guidance to those who have worshipped there, and the church stands as a tribute to the faith and

1

1 dedication of its members, both past and present, who have devoted 2 their time, prayers, and resources to ensure its continued 3 existence; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
Legislature hereby honor First Baptist Church of Carrollton on its
100th anniversary and extend to its members sincere best wishes for
the coming years; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the congregation as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Jackson

H.R. No. 704

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 704

H.R. No. 704

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 704 was adopted by the House on March 4, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House