H.R. No. 705

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Katy are gathering in Austin to
celebrate Katy Day at the State Capitol on March 12, 2009; and

3 WHEREAS, Situated on the coastal prairie among the grasslands and bayous, the community was originally known as Cane Island; it 4 5 was first settled in the 1870s as a farming community, with residents primarily growing cotton, peanuts, and corn until 1901, 6 7 when William Eule introduced rice farming; the town came to be called Katy, after the depot of the Missouri, Kansas and Texas 8 Railroad (the MKT) -- or perhaps after the wife of a saloonkeeper; 9 10 and

11 WHEREAS, The discovery of natural gas in 1934 changed the 12 fortunes of area residents, who profited from the size of the field 13 and its close proximity to Houston's refineries; the city was 14 incorporated in 1945 and today is an important rail and 15 agricultural center; and

WHEREAS, The Katy Independent School District is one of the 16 fastest-growing in the state; having completed 23 new campuses in 17 the past decade, it now includes 31 elementary schools, 12 junior 18 highs, 6 high schools, a career technology center, and an 19 20 alternative high school; the district places a strong emphasis on 21 technology, providing computers in each classroom and stationary 22 and wireless labs in every school; student achievement on 23 standardized tests consistently surpasses statewide levels, and 16 24 Katy campuses have been designated as exemplary in the

1

H.R. No. 705

1 accountability ratings compiled by the Texas Education Agency; and 2 WHEREAS, Several city attractions provide a window on the 3 area's past, including the Katy Heritage Museum, the vintage 4 buildings that make up Heritage Park, and the town's 1898 train 5 depot that has been restored to house the MKT Museum; and

6 WHEREAS, Throughout the year, Katy hosts a number of popular 7 events that draw locals and visitors alike; the Katy Independent 8 School District FFA Livestock Show and Rodeo is held in February, 9 the Folk Life Festival takes place in April, and the Rice Harvest 10 Festival honors the city's agricultural traditions each October; 11 and

12 WHEREAS, For more than a century, Katy has been an 13 outstanding place to live and work, and its citizens may take great 14 pride in their contributions to the Lone Star State; now, 15 therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 17 Legislature hereby recognize March 12, 2009, as Katy Day at the 18 State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for 19 an enjoyable and informative stay in Austin.

> Callegari Zerwas Vo Bohac Elkins

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 705

H.R. No. 705

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 705 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House