## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. R. Vic Morgan is retiring as president of Sul 2 Ross State University on August 31, 2009, concluding an outstanding career in education that has spanned four decades; and 3 WHEREAS, A native of Bangs, Vic Morgan earned a bachelor's 4 5 degree in mathematics and psychology from Howard Payne University, a master's degree in mathematics and philosophy from Vanderbilt 6 7 University, and a doctoral degree in mathematics and philosophy from the University of Missouri; he served on the faculty of 8 Southern Methodist University from 1969 to 1975, when he joined Sul 9 Ross State University as an associate professor of mathematics; and 10 11 WHEREAS, Dr. Morgan demonstrated leadership ability as chair of the department of mathematics, computer science, physics, and 12 astronomy, and he went on to serve as dean of the science division 13 14 for seven years; in 1986, he was appointed executive assistant to the president, in which capacity he worked to create a more 15 16 student-centered campus; he subsequently served president for a year before being selected as the university's 10th 17 president on August 30, 1990; and 18 WHEREAS, Sul Ross has benefited immensely from the expertise 19 of Dr. Morgan, who has overseen numerous construction projects, 20 21 including the expansion of the Bryan Wildenthal Memorial Library, the renovation and relocation of the Museum of the Big Bend, and the 22 23 development of the Lobo Village Housing Complex; also during his tenure, the university experienced significant financial growth, 24

- 1 bringing its endowment to nearly \$13 million; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Dr. Morgan has further distinguished himself
- 3 through his professional involvement in the Texas Section of the
- 4 Mathematical Association of America, the Texas Association of
- 5 College and University Student Personnel Administrators, the Texas
- 6 International Education Consortium, the Council of Public
- 7 University Presidents and Chancellors, and the Texas
- 8 Intercollegiate Athletic Association, which he served as
- 9 president; in addition, he has given generously of his time to the
- 10 Alpine Lions Club, the Alpine Chamber of Commerce, Boy Scouts, and
- 11 Texas Rural Communities, Inc.; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Highly regarded for his skill both as an educator
- 13 and an administrator, Dr. Morgan can take great pride in the
- 14 contributions he has made to Sul Ross, to his profession, and to the
- 15 community at large, and it is indeed a pleasure to pay tribute to
- 16 this esteemed Texan; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. R. Vic Morgan on his retirement
- 19 as president of Sul Ross State University and extend to him sincere
- 20 best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Dr. Morgan as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.

Gallego

## H.R. No. 720

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

<b>TT</b>	_	7. T	720
	-	NO	/ / / 1

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 720 was adopted by the House on April 29, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House