H.R. No. 742

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Ridglea Hills Elementary School in Fort Worth was
named a 2008 Just for the Kids--Higher Performing School by the
National Center for Educational Achievement; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1995 by the NCEA, Just for the Kids is 4 5 a program designed to find and fulfill every school's potential for reaching academic excellence and to ensure that all students are 6 7 prepared for college and careers; JFTK identifies Higher Performing Schools that meet stringent criteria over multiple years and across 8 all subjects; the best practices of these institutions are measured 9 to determine a framework for improvement in other schools, and the 10 11 Higher Performing Schools serve as models for raising scholastic 12 standards nationwide; and

WHEREAS, Known as the "Home of the Mustangs," Ridglea Hills Elementary opened in 1955 in the western area of Fort Worth; skillfully led by principal Clifford K. Mayer, this noteworthy school seeks to fulfill its mission of providing a quality learning environment in which all children achieve educational success, and it has obtained a "Recognized" rating from the Texas Education Agency; and

20 WHEREAS, Through commitment, hard work, and perseverance, 21 the teachers and students of Ridglea Hills Elementary School have 22 built an impressive record of academic achievement, and their 23 outstanding efforts were duly recognized with this Higher 24 Performing School designation; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 742

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor Ridglea Hills Elementary School on its 3 selection as a 2008 Just for the Kids--Higher Performing School and 4 extend to its teachers, students, and staff sincere best wishes for 5 continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Shelton

H.R. No. 742

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 742 was adopted by the House on March 19, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House