H.R. No. 763

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, March is National Women's History Month, and the 2 Honey Brown Hope Foundation is celebrating the outstanding 3 achievements of women with its 2009 Women Improving the Nation 4 Award Luncheon on March 14, 2009; and

5 WHEREAS, Honey Brown Hope is a nonprofit writing and literacy 6 foundation working to empower voters, encourage multicultural 7 writing, literature, and drama, and foster character building and 8 environmental awareness; and

9 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of founder and executive 10 director, Tammie Lang Campbell, the foundation has worked for 11 nearly two decades to provide educational opportunities to young 12 people and adults; and

13 WHEREAS, The 2009 WIN Award will be presented to Kathy Sapp, 14 executive producer of the nationally syndicated Judge Alex television show, in recognition of her successful media career and 15 16 contributions to the community; the luncheon will also feature guest speaker Kathy Williams, vice president and news director of 17 18 KRIV Fox 26 TV in Houston, and Honorary Chair, Judge Debra Champagne; a portion of the proceeds will benefit the foundation's 19 20 self-worth program for young girls; and

21 WHEREAS, This event represents a fitting tribute to the hard 22 work, perseverance, and commitment to excellence of notable women, 23 and the event itself is indeed worthy of recognition; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 763

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 2009 WIN Award Luncheon of the 3 Honey Brown Hope Foundation and extend to the event's organizers, 4 sponsors, and guests sincere best wishes for a meaningful and 5 memorable event; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the Honey Brown Hope Foundation as an expression of 8 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Olivo

H.R. No. 763

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 763 was adopted by the House on March 10, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House