H.R. No. 764

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Uvalde County are gathering in
Austin to celebrate Uvalde County Day at the State Capitol on March
11, 2009; and

WHEREAS, The area was once a hunting ground of the Comanche, 4 5 Tonkawa, and Lipan Apache peoples; a Spanish mission was established in the region in 1762, and in 1790 Juan de Ugalde, the 6 7 governor of Coahuila, won a decisive victory over the Apaches; the site of the battle was named in honor of the governor, and an 8 altered spelling of his name--Uvalde--was later applied to the 9 10 county; and

11 WHEREAS, Permanent settlers began to arrive in the 1850s, and 12 Uvalde County was established in 1856; a rough-and-tumble frontier area during and after the Civil War, the county became a ranching 13 14 center in the late 1800s and was also renowned for its honey, which took first prize at the Paris World's Fair in 1900; today, the 15 16 county's economy continues to be based on agribusiness, including farming and the raising of livestock such as cattle, sheep, and 17 goats; and 18

WHEREAS, Four spring-fed rivers, the Nueces, Leona, Sabinal, and Frio, have cut ruggedly beautiful canyons through the region's rolling hills; the county draws hunters from around the state with its abundance of deer, quail, doves, and turkey, while swimmers, campers, bird-watchers, and other outdoors enthusiasts enjoy the scenic delights of Garner State Park; and

1

H.R. No. 764

1 WHEREAS, Founded in the 1850s, county seat Uvalde is home to 2 the Aviation Museum of Texas at the former Garner Army Air Field; 3 the John Nance Garner Home and Museum celebrates the life of the 4 former vice president of the United States, and the town is also the 5 home of the Sahawe Indian Dancers, who help preserve the Native 6 American cultural practices of the Southwest with their popular 7 dance performances; and

8 WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich history even as they work to 9 build a bright future, the citizens of Uvalde County may take great 10 pride in the contributions that this unique region has made to the 11 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby recognize March 11, 2009, as Uvalde County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes for a memorable and meaningful stay in Austin.

Gallego

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 764

H.R. No. 764

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 764 was adopted by the House on March 11, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House