## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The 96th birthday of an esteemed Texan is truly 2 cause for celebration, and Naomi Ghormley of Pasadena is marking 3 that significant milestone in her life on March 16, 2009; and WHEREAS, Mrs. Ghormley was born in 1913 and moved to Texas 4 5 from Oklahoma with her husband and family in the late 1930s, first living in Texas City before settling in the Pasadena area; she has 6 been a community resident for 70 years and has witnessed many 7 changes and tremendous growth in her town during that time; and 8 WHEREAS, This remarkable Texan served as the postmaster for 9 the first post office in Golden Acres, which she operated out of her 10 11 family home; after Golden Acres became a part of Pasadena, she 12 worked at other city post offices until her retirement in 1972; and 13 WHEREAS, Mrs. Ghormley enjoyed a rewarding marriage with her 14 husband, Dwight, before his passing in 1980; the couple raised six children, Charles, Cecil, Judy, Barbara, Bennett, and Allen, and 15 the Ghormley family has since grown to include 16 grandchildren, 27 16 great-grandchildren, and 2 great-great-grandchildren; and 17 18 WHEREAS, An avid traveler during her retirement years, Mrs. Ghormley has visited all 50 states as well as Canada and Mexico; and 19 WHEREAS, For nearly a century, Naomi Ghormley has brought 20 21 happiness into the lives of all those fortunate enough to share in her love and friendship, and she may reflect with pride on 96 years 22 23 of life well lived; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

24

H.R. No. 778

- 1 Legislature hereby honor Naomi Ghormley on the joyous occasion of
- 2 her 96th birthday and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 3 continued happiness; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mrs. Ghormley as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Legler

TT	_	7. T	770
н	$\nu$	No.	118

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 778 was adopted by the House on March 19, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House