RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Citizens of Del Rio are observing National Athletic
Training Month in March 2009, and it is a pleasure to join with them
in recognizing this vital health care discipline; and
WHEREAS, The purpose of National Athletic Training Month is

WHEREAS, The purpose of National Athletic Training Month is
to raise public awareness of the significance of the athletic
training profession and to emphasize quality health care within the
diverse settings where this beneficial vocation is employed;
certified athletic trainers have a long history of providing
quality health care for athletes and those engaged in physical
activity, based on the knowledge and skills they have acquired
through nationally regulated educational institutions; and

12 WHEREAS, The National Athletic Trainers' Association represents and supports 30,000 members of the athletic training 13 14 profession who work in such varied areas as professional sports, colleges and universities, high schools, clinics and hospitals, 15 16 corporate and industrial settings, and military branches; in addition to administering health care and rehabilitative services, 17 these dedicated professionals provide athletes with education and 18 guidance on injury prevention and on the best forms of treatment 19 20

when injuries do occur; and

WHEREAS, National Athletic Training Month is an opportunity

to encourage the improvement of health care for athletes and

individuals engaged in physical activity and to support the work of

certified athletic trainers, whose efforts greatly contribute to

H.R. No. 782

- 1 the well-being of the residents of Del Rio and beyond; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the 2009 observance of National
- 5 Athletic Training Month in Del Rio and encourage all Texans to learn
- 6 more about the benefits of athletic training.

Gallego

тт	_	3. T	700
Н	R	$N \cap$	181

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 782 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House