H.R. No. 793

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Hugh O'Brian Youth Leadership of North Texas, HOBY

Texas North, empowers future leaders to develop and fully utilize

3 their potential in order to help build a brighter world; and

WHEREAS, Created in 1958 by film star Hugh O'Brian, HOBY has

5 motivated over 350,000 young people to become catalysts for

6 positive change in their homes, schools, and communities; HOBY

7 seeks to promote democracy and free enterprise while encouraging

8 social responsibility and does not promote any particular political

9 or religious agenda; the organization's programs are conducted

10 throughout the United States, and the North Texas chapter was

11 incorporated in 1982; and

WHEREAS, HOBY focuses on students at the sophomore level of

13 high school, and individuals are nominated by their schools for

14 participation; in the course of completing the program, young

15 people learn the values of volunteerism, excellence, diversity,

16 innovative thinking, leadership, and community partnership; HOBY

17 graduates emerge from the program with extensive knowledge of the

18 American economic system and a better understanding of what it

19 takes to succeed within it; and

WHEREAS, May 16, 2009, is HOBY Texas North Service Day, and

21 this special observance provides a fitting opportunity to recognize

22 this outstanding organization and commend the students who are

23 taking part in its training and service programs; now, therefore,

24 be it

2

H.R. No. 793

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor Hugh O'Brian Youth Leadership of North
- 3 Texas and extend to all those involved with HOBY Texas North sincere
- 4 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Kent

H.R	. No.	793

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 793 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House