RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The residents of New Braunfels lost a devoted 2 community leader with the passing of Gheral Thomas Purdum on 3 October 8, 2008, at the age of 80; and

WHEREAS, Born in San Antonio on April 18, 1928, to J. L. and Imogene Purdum, Tom Purdum graduated early from Brackenridge High School and joined the U.S. Marine Corps on his 17th birthday; he served in Guam and in Washington, D.C., as a member of the Silent Drill Platoon; and

WHEREAS, His career in civic service began with the San 9 Antonio Jaycees; he joined the group while attending Trinity 10 11 University and working at Smith Motors, and he was the 12 organization's president in 1956 and 1957; Mr. Purdum went on to serve in the Uvalde Chamber of Commerce for three years before being 13 14 hired as chamber of commerce manager in New Braunfels, where he was instrumental in the creation and promotion of Wurstfest, the city's 15 16 renowned annual festival; his exceptional work with the organization led to his promotion to executive director, and he 17 held that title for 25 years; and 18

WHEREAS, This dedicated Texan held a number of important posts with local and regional organizations; he served as president of the Texas Chamber of Commerce Executives, the New Braunfels Rotary Club, and the Comal County Community Fund, as vice-chair of the New Braunfels Economic Development Corporation and as public affairs director and director of customer services for the Lower

1

1 Colorado River Authority; in addition, he was a charter board 2 member of the Greater Austin-San Antonio Corridor Council, a 3 founding member of the Institute of Texan Cultures in San Antonio, 4 and president of the Hummel Museum and Art Gallery in New Braunfels; 5 and

6 WHEREAS, Mr. Purdum received numerous accolades for his achievements, including the Besserung Award as citizen of the year 7 8 for New Braunfels, selection as Grosse Opa for Wurstfest 2000, the Marvin Hurley Award from the Texas Chamber of Commerce Executives, 9 10 and one of only eight honorary life memberships in the Texas Economic Development Council; moreover, he was one of the first 11 three individuals given the title of Living Legend of New 12 Braunfels, and he received an honorary Texan of the Year award from 13 14 the Texas Legislative Conference; and

15 WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Mr. Purdum enjoyed the love 16 and support of his wife, Bobbie, and their family; and

WHEREAS, Tom Purdum will be greatly missed by all who knew him, but his admirable dedication and the many contributions he made to his community will long remain an inspiration to residents of the city he loved so well; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 22 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Gheral Thomas Purdum 23 and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his 24 wife, Bobbie Purdum; to his children, Sande Herbelin, Candy Sober, 25 Sue Brown, Hal Herbelin, Tommy Purdum, Brad Herbelin, Martha 26 Bellamy, and Mike Purdum; to his brother, Jack Purdum; to his 27 grandchildren and great-grandchildren; and to his other relatives

2

1 and friends; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 4 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Tom Purdum. Miller of Comal

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 795

4

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 795 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House