H.R. No. 809

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Honorable Eric V. Moyé recently made history as the first African American ever elected as judge of a civil district court in Dallas County when he was elected to preside over the 14th Civil District Court on November 4, 2008; and

5 WHEREAS, Eric Moyé grew up in New York, but he earned his bachelor's degree in Texas at Southern Methodist University in 6 7 1976; he went on to graduate from Harvard Law School in 1979 before returning to Dallas to launch his legal career; he worked at the 8 9 firms of Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld, L.L.P., and Vial, Hamilton, Koch & Knox, L.L.P., representing an array of clients, 10 11 from individuals and companies to larger entities such as the 12 Dallas Independent School District; in 1993, he was appointed by Governor Ann Richards to preside over the 101st Civil District 13 14 Court in Dallas County, and he later became a founding partner of Vincent & Moyé, a commercial litigation firm with offices in Dallas 15 16 and Houston; and

WHEREAS, Judge Moyé is licensed by the bars of Texas and New 17 York, as well as by the U.S. Supreme Court and Court of Appeals; in 18 addition to more than 25 years of civil practice experience, he has 19 served on various appeal and advisory boards for the City of Dallas 20 and has been involved in dispute mediation; he has also been active 21 in the American Bar Association, the American Judicature Society, 22 23 the Dallas Bar Association, and the American Association for Justice, and he was a fellow for the Texas Bar Foundation; moreover, 24

1

H.R. No. 809

1 he was president of the Harvard Law School Alumni Association, and 2 he returns to his alma mater every year to teach trial law at the 3 Harvard Law School Trial Advocacy Workshop; he has further shared 4 his expertise as an adjunct faculty member at SMU's Dedman College; 5 and

6 WHEREAS, Despite his busy professional life, Judge Moyé has 7 found time to devote to numerous community organizations, including 8 the Leadership Dallas Alumni Association, St. Philip's School and Community Center, and the Dallas Symphony Orchestra; a former 9 10 delegate to the Democratic National Convention, he has been affiliated with the Dallas Democratic Forum and the Democratic 11 Progressive Voters League, and he was a member of the Dallas chapter 12 of the American Civil Liberties Union; he has also served on the 13 14 Mayor's Task Force on Housing and Economic Development in Southern 15 Dallas and contributed to the Dallas Urban League; and

16 WHEREAS, Eric Moyé has long demonstrated a profound 17 commitment to his community and to his profession, and he may indeed 18 reflect with great pride on his notable achievements as he takes on 19 this new role; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 21 Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Eric V. Moyé on his 22 election and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued 23 success and happiness; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Judge Moyé as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Anchia

2

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Straus

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 809

H.R. No. 809

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 809 was adopted by the House on March 24, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House