H.R. No. 816

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A 50th wedding anniversary marks a lifetime of love 2 and shared experiences, and William C. and Patricia A. Southerland 3 of Midland celebrated this joyous milestone in their marriage on 4 January 24, 2009; and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Southerland were joined in matrimony in 6 1959 at a ceremony held in Waurika, Oklahoma; they lived in Venice, 7 Louisiana, and Hobbs, New Mexico, before moving to Texas, where 8 they have lived in Pampa and Midland; through the years, they have 9 been blessed with a treasured family that includes three children 10 and six grandchildren; and

11 WHEREAS, Respected members of their community, Mr. 12 Southerland worked for Getty Oil for 25 years and for Texaco for 7 13 years, and Mrs. Southerland is a retired elementary school teacher; 14 and

15 WHEREAS, They are valued members of the First Baptist Church 16 and the John Sunday School Department; Mr. Southerland is also 17 active with the Barbershop Harmony Society and the Midland Downtown 18 Lion's Club; Mrs. Southerland is a member of the Midland 19 Association of Retired School Personnel, the Midland Women's Club, 20 Republican Women, the Santa Rita Club, Kappa Kappa Iota, and Delta 21 Kappa Gamma, and she serves on the Community Concerts board; and

22 WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Southerland have enjoyed five decades 23 of abiding love and affection for one another, and they are among an 24 exceptional group of men and women who can claim such a lasting

1

H.R. No. 816

1 commitment; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate William and Patricia Southerland 4 on their golden wedding anniversary and extend to them sincere best 5 wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Southerland as an expression of high 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 816

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 816 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House