H.R. No. 822

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Historical Commission has approved a new
- 2 historical marker commemorating the history of the Pure Oil Company
- 3 Camp near Van; and
- WHEREAS, Researched by members of the Van Zandt County
- 5 Historical Commission and sponsored by the Van Area Oil and
- 6 Historical Museum, the new marker tells an important part of the
- 7 story of the rich Van oil field during the 1930s and 1940s; and
- 8 WHEREAS, After oil was discovered in Van in 1929, the Pure Oil
- 9 Company set up a headquarters camp to serve as a storage and
- 10 distribution center for machinery, equipment, and supplies and as a
- 11 centralized location for the field's management; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The camp also featured a geological laboratory that
- 13 collected core samples from every well drilled in the Van field; the
- 14 careful planning and efficiency of the camp drew admiring visitors
- 15 from around the world; and
- WHEREAS, During World War II, the Pure Oil Company Camp's
- 17 management of the Van field helped produce enough crude oil to
- 18 manufacture more than six hundred million gallons of gasoline; 80
- 19 years later, the field is still productive; and
- 20 WHEREAS, The approval of an official Texas Historical Marker
- 21 to note the Pure Oil Company Camp's unique role in Texas history
- 22 serves as an excellent opportunity to celebrate the 80th
- 23 anniversary of the discovery of the Van oil field and of this
- 24 colorful region of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 822

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the approval of a new historical
- 3 marker for the Pure Oil Company Camp in Van by the Texas Historical
- 4 Commission and congratulate the Van Zandt County Historical
- 5 Commission and the Van Area Oil and Historical Museum on their
- 6 efforts to win approval for the marker.

Flynn

	_	3.7	$\alpha \gamma \gamma$
ш	ט	$N \cap$	Q

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 822 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House