H.R. No. 836

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Jacksonville Middle School Maidens basketball
- 2 team captured the District 14-4A championship, defeating the team
- 3 from Mike Moses Middle School in Nacogdoches by a score of 41-28 to
- 4 clinch the title; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The district championship triumph was part of a
- 6 spectacular season in which the Maidens went undefeated, racking up
- 7 11 regular season wins and 2 playoff victories on their way to
- 8 claiming the crown; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Jacksonville's success is a testament to the value
- 10 of teamwork, with outstanding contributions being provided by each
- 11 member of the roster: Shelbi Laney, Katelyn Standley, Raekevia
- 12 Mathis, Mackenzie Crow, Lynnquasha Menefee, Sametria Baker,
- 13 Destiny Pugh, Chancii Scott, and Karey Johnson; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Head coach Patsy Whitaker provided valuable
- 15 guidance to the Maidens throughout the season, inspiring the
- 16 athletes to perform to their full potential; and
- WHEREAS, Winning a district championship is an outstanding
- 18 achievement, and the members of the Maidens team may indeed take
- 19 justifiable pride in their hard work and exceptional performance;
- 20 now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate the Jacksonville Middle School
- 23 Maidens on winning the District 14-4A basketball championship and
- 24 extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for

H.R. No. 836

- 1 continued success; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 4 House of Representatives.

Hopson

| <b>TT</b> | -     | 3. T     | $\sim \sim \sim$ |
|-----------|-------|----------|------------------|
| Н         | $\nu$ | $N \cap$ | 836              |
|           |       |          |                  |

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 836 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House