H.R. No. 858

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Cross United Church of Christ in Seguin celebrated
its 100th anniversary on February 28, 2009; and

3 WHEREAS, The assembly was first organized on March 28, 1909, as a German-speaking alternative to the local Methodist services 4 5 delivered in English; the initial service was pastored by the Reverend Joseph Jaworski and attended by 18 people, who passed a 6 7 constitution establishing the congregation; the first permanent home for Cross United was built in 1913, and services there 8 continued to be conducted in German until around 1930, when the 9 church converted to English; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Through the years, the membership has benefited from 12 the dedicated efforts of many outstanding spiritual leaders, 13 including the Reverend James Price, who leads the congregation 14 today; and

WHEREAS, The current Cross United Church of Christ building was dedicated in 1969 and is home to a community of faith that includes more than 350 members; the congregants participate in a range of worthy programs, including those benefiting the Guadalupe Valley Family Violence Shelter, Habitat for Humanity, and the Children's Advocacy Center of Comal County; and

21 WHEREAS, Since its inception, Cross United Church of Christ 22 has served as a source of inspiration and fellowship for those who 23 worship there, and its continued existence is a tribute to the 24 unwavering commitment of its members, both past and present; now,

1

H.R. No. 858

1 therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the centennial of Cross United 4 Church of Christ in Seguin and extend to the congregation sincere 5 best wishes for the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Kuempel

H.R. No. 858

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 858 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House