H.R. No. 861

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Merritt Johnson has been named the Kilgore College
- 2 Ex-Teacher of the Year for 2008; and
- 3 WHEREAS, A native of Longview, Mr. Johnson attended Texas A&M
- 4 University; he went on to work for Otis Engineering Corporation and
- 5 to teach at Hallsville High School; in 1965 he began teaching
- 6 mathematics and geology at Kilgore College, and two years later he
- 7 transferred to the Technical Vocations Department; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Johnson became chair of the Technical Education
- 9 Department in 1976 and, four years later, division director of the
- 10 Technical Vocational Department; he went on to distinguish himself
- 11 as director of Adult Vocational Education and director of
- 12 Continuing Education; by the time of his retirement in 1995, he was
- 13 interim dean of Occupational Education; and
- WHEREAS, In spite of his many professional responsibilities,
- 15 this accomplished Texan has also found time to give back to his
- 16 community as a member of First Baptist Church of Longview and the
- 17 Lions Club; the recipient of a life membership in the Texas Lions
- 18 Camp, he was also named a Texas Lions Foundation Fellow and Lion of
- 19 the Year; and
- WHEREAS, The dedication and skill of educators like Mr.
- 21 Johnson have benefited generations of Texas students, and he may
- 22 indeed take pride in this recognition of his longtime commitment to
- 23 excellence in his profession; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 861

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Merritt Johnson on his selection as
- 2 the 2008 Kilgore College Ex-Teacher of the Year and extend to him
- 3 sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Johnson as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Merritt

Н	D	$N \cap$	861

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 861 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House