H.R. No. 868

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 welcome members of the State Firemen's and Fire Marshals' 3 Association of Texas who are participating in Firefighter 4 Legislative Day at the State Capitol on March 25, 2009; and

5 WHEREAS, The State Firemen's and Fire Marshals' Association 6 of Texas is the oldest and largest fire service organization in the 7 Lone Star State; the association was founded in 1876 and currently 8 represents more than 1,200 fire departments, nearly 20,000 9 individual members, and over 80 industrial fire brigades; and

10 WHEREAS, The association sponsors and supports the world's 11 largest fire-training school, which is held each summer at Texas 12 A&M University; moreover, it offers an educational certification 13 program for volunteer firefighters and encourages training, 14 education, and certification for all volunteers, who make up 15 approximately 70 percent of Texas firefighters; and

16 WHEREAS, The members of this esteemed organization are 17 gathering to recognize and pay tribute to the tireless and heroic 18 actions of the members of the Texas fire service, and the names of 19 six courageous volunteer firefighters who died in the line of duty 20 are being added to the Volunteer Firemen monument on the Capitol 21 grounds; and

WHEREAS, Those firefighters being honored are Elmer Homilius of the Comfort Volunteer Fire Department, who died on October 15, 1984, Austin Cheek and Kevin Williams of the Noonday Volunteer Fire

1

H.R. No. 868

Department, who died on August 3, 2007, William Simes of the 1 Giddings Volunteer Fire Department, who died on September 25, 2007, 2 3 Robert Knight of the Teague Volunteer Fire Department, who died on July 5, 2008, and Joe Jordan of the Pickton-Pine Forest Volunteer 4 Fire Department, who died on July 4, 2008; all of these valiant 5 6 individuals made the ultimate sacrifice while serving their communities, and their vital service will not soon be forgotten; 7 8 and

9 WHEREAS, The State Firemen's and Fire Marshals' Association 10 of Texas is working to uphold its mission to promote, unify, 11 represent, and educate the fire service of Texas, and it is a 12 privilege to recognize the brave men and women who help safeguard 13 lives and property in communities all across the Lone Star State; 14 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby commend the firefighters of Texas for their courageous actions and devotion to duty in behalf of their fellow citizens and pay tribute to the volunteer firefighters who have died in the line of duty.

Keffer

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 868

Menendez

H.R. No. 868

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 868 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House