H.R. No. 875

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Deputy Mayor Cedric Cirasa of Villefranche-sur-Mer, 2 France, is experiencing the culture, heritage, and institutions of 3 the Lone Star State firsthand as he visits the State Capitol in 4 Austin on March 25, 2009; and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Cirasa previously served as deputy mayor of Nice; with his recent promotion 6 to deputy mayor of 7 Villefranche-sur-Mer, he also takes on the role of minister of tourism and culture; and 8

9 WHEREAS, Villefranche-sur-Mer is set along the beautiful coastal region of the Mediterranean known as the Cote d'Azur, 10 11 between the city of Nice and the principality of Monaco; it has a 12 long and colorful history that began even before the Roman Empire, and today the city's cobbled streets and red-tiled roofs still have 13 14 a charmingly medieval atmosphere; now a popular resort welcoming more than a million tourists a year, the city is known for its close 15 16 ties to the United States; the U.S. Navy has a long association with the city, and Mr. Cirasa was in charge of a recent commemoration of 17 World War II and of the U.S. Navy's role in that conflict; and 18

WHEREAS, By visiting the State Capitol, Mr. Cirasa is helping to build stronger ties of friendship and mutual respect between the citizens of his lovely city and the proud residents of the Lone Star State, and it is most fitting that he should be extended the status of honorary Texan; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

H.R. No. 875

Legislature hereby recognize Cedric Cirasa as an honorary Texan with all the perquisites and privileges accorded to those individuals native to this great state and extend to him sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable visit to Austin; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Cirasa as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Kleinschmidt

H.R. No. 875

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 875 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House