H.R. No. 876

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Graham Harrell of Texas Tech University completed
- 2 his final year of college football with the 2008-2009 season,
- 3 bringing an end to a stellar career that distinguished him as one of
- 4 the top quarterbacks in the college ranks; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A native Texan born in Brownwood, Mr. Harrell hails
- 6 from a family with a strong gridiron tradition, and he drew on the
- 7 knowledge passed down by his father and grandfather, both of whom
- 8 have been high school coaches; he received his first widespread
- 9 attention while playing for his dad's Ennis High School team, and by
- 10 the time he graduated, he had set the state records for
- 11 single-season and career passing yardage and garnered numerous
- 12 awards; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Harrell chose to don the Red Raiders uniform for
- 14 his college career and first took the field in 2005; by the
- 15 following season, he was emerging as a top-flight quarterback,
- 16 throwing for more than 4,500 yards and 38 touchdowns; his skills
- 17 proved to be a perfect match for Tech's high-caliber spread
- 18 offense, and during his junior year in 2007, the numbers went even
- 19 higher; he tallied 5,705 passing yards, the most in the nation, and
- 20 led the Red Raiders to a 9-4 season and a victory in the Gator Bowl;
- 21 and
- WHEREAS, Continuing his masterful work in his senior year,
- 23 Mr. Harrell helped engineer Tech's bid for the national title and
- 24 its dramatic victory over the number one-ranked University of Texas

H.R. No. 876

- 1 team; at season's end, the statistics gave a fuller picture of Mr.
- 2 Harrell's achievements at Texas Tech: he had become the first
- 3 quarterback to have two 5,000-yard passing seasons, he had set the
- 4 NCAA record for the most career touchdown passes at 134, and his
- 5 15,429 total passing yards made him the second most productive
- 6 quarterback in college history; and
- WHEREAS, Graham Harrell garnered several top honors in 2008,
- 8 including the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award that is presented to
- 9 the nation's best senior quarterback and the AT&T All-America
- 10 Player of the Year designation; these accolades are representative
- 11 of the great respect that he has earned during his college career,
- 12 and his inspired play will be remembered by sports fans in the Lone
- 13 Star State for years to come; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby congratulate Graham Harrell on his exceptional
- 16 performance with the Texas Tech football team and extend to him
- 17 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for Mr. Harrell as an expression of high regard by the
- 20 Texas House of Representatives.

Pitts Jones Darby Keffer

H.R. No. 876

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

| | _ | 3.7 | \sim \sim \sim |
|---|---|-----|----------------------|
| ш | ט | NO | 2 /h |
| | | | |

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 876 was adopted by the House on March 24, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House