RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The city of San Angelo lost a remarkable
- 2 philanthropist with the death of Eva Camunez Tucker on June 24,
- 3 2007, at the age of 96; and
- WHEREAS, Born in San Angelo on April 9, 1911, the former Eva
- 5 Camunez was the daughter of Josefa and Reynaldo Camunez; they sent
- 6 her to Incarnate Word Academy in San Antonio because of segregation
- 7 in local schools, but eventually prevailed on San Angelo High
- 8 School to admit her; she became its first Hispanic graduate and went
- 9 on to earn her teaching certificate from Angelo State University;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, This gifted educator began her career in Mertzon;
- 12 the town hired her to teach Mexican American children, but she could
- 13 find no place to live there, so sheepshearers transported her from
- 14 her residence in San Angelo; after moving on to Ballinger, she was
- 15 soon promoted to the post of principal; she served her country
- 16 during World War II as a mail censor and then as a translator for the
- 17 state department in Washington, D.C.; and
- WHEREAS, On December 30, 1948, she married Art Tucker, an
- 19 independent oilman; the couple settled in Ballinger, where Mrs.
- 20 Tucker began running the office for her husband, a responsibility
- 21 she carried out for nearly three decades; the couple relocated to
- 22 Lueders after buying a refinery and enjoyed a rewarding marriage
- 23 until Mr. Tucker's death in 1975; and
- WHEREAS, Mrs. Tucker returned to San Angelo in 1976 and built

- 1 her husband's legacy into a sizeable fortune through her skill as an
- 2 investor; she lived modestly in the home her father had built and
- 3 donated millions of dollars to religious, educational, and
- 4 charitable causes, as well as to the arts; Mrs. Tucker created the
- 5 Up and Coming Scholars program at San Angelo State and provided
- 6 funds not only to her own beloved St. Joseph Catholic Church, but
- 7 also to churches around the state and in other countries; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The myriad beneficiaries of the Art and Eva Camunez
- 9 Tucker Foundation included the West Texas Rehabilitation Center,
- 10 the San Angelo Symphony, the Concho Valley Home for Girls, and the
- 11 West Texas Collection of San Angelo University; Mrs. Tucker was a
- 12 patron to such West Texas artists as painter Rene Alvarado and
- 13 sculptor Raul Ruiz, from whom she commissioned a bronze statue of
- 14 sheepshearers for ASU in gratitude and remembrance of the men who
- 15 had brought her to and from her classroom in Mertzon so many years
- 16 before; and
- WHEREAS, Beloved by her community, Mrs. Tucker was named
- 18 Citizen of the Year by the San Angelo Chamber of Commerce in 1995
- 19 and received numerous other accolades, among them ASU's first
- 20 honorary doctorate and designation by the Women's Chamber of
- 21 Commerce of Texas as one of the Texas Women of the Century; she was
- 22 invested in the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre, the second
- 23 highest and second oldest of papal orders, and was named a papal
- 24 lady, the highest award a Catholic laywoman can receive; and
- 25 WHEREAS, Eva Tucker earned the lasting admiration of her
- 26 community as a benefactor and as a role model, and throughout her
- 27 life, she inspired others with her devotion, generosity, and caring

- 1 nature; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Eva Camunez Tucker and
- 4 that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it
- 5 do so in memory of Eva Camunez Tucker.

Darby

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 899 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House