H.R. No. 901

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Representatives from Texas State Technical College 2 are visiting the State Capitol on March 24, 2009, and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to honor this notable institution; 3 and 4 WHEREAS, Established in 1965, the Texas State Technical 5 College System today includes TSTC Harlingen, TSTC Marshall, TSTC 6 Waco, and TSTC West Texas, which has campuses in Abilene, 7 Breckenridge, Brownwood, and Sweetwater; TSTC is the only 8 9 state-supported technical college system in Texas, and its mission is to help the Lone Star State meet the high-tech challenges of the 10 11 current global economy; this coeducational, two-year institution 12 partners with businesses, government agencies, and other colleges to provide its students with technical-vocational courses and 13 14 training programs that meet the rising demands of Texas industry; 15 and WHEREAS, TSTC serves more than 15,000 students in credit 16 programs alone, and it has an exemplary record of graduating 17 students from diverse cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds; TSTC 18 students come from 220 of the 254 counties in Texas, and many of 19 them have lived in rural areas with limited access to other 20

institutions of higher education or workforce training; in addition

to offering high-quality instruction to these students, TSTC

remains an affordable option for them, with its tuition at nearly a

quarter of the average proprietary school fees; and

21

22

23

24

H.R. No. 901

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas State Technical College System is
- 2 committed to helping its students become skilled leaders in
- 3 tomorrow's workforce, and its efforts are contributing greatly to
- 4 the educational and economic development of our state; now,
- 5 therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby recognize March 24, 2009, as Texas State
- 8 Technical College Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those
- 9 associated with the institution sincere best wishes for continued
- 10 success; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for Texas State Technical College as an expression of high
- 13 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson Hughes Keffer King of Taylor Lucio III Rios Ybarra

## H.R. No. 901

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

<b>TT</b>	-	7. T	901
Н	-	NΩ	Q/11

a 1 5 11 --

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 901 was adopted by the House on March 24, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House