H.R. No. 927

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Rebecca Robinson of Buffalo has represented the Lone 2 Star State with distinction during her reign as Miss Texas 2008; and
- 3 WHEREAS, A graduate of Texas A&M University, Ms. Robinson
- 4 studied internationally at Universidad de Salamanca and earned a
- 5 number of honors during her undergraduate career, including a
- 6 Go-Texan Scholarship, an American Character and Citizenship Award,
- 7 and an International Foreign Language Award in Spanish; and
- 8 WHEREAS, She has given back to her community through her work
- 9 as president of the Texas Saints volunteer organization, as a
- 10 bilingual literacy tutor, as the director of partnership projects
- 11 with Boys & Girls Club of America, and as a caregiver at Phoebe's
- 12 Home for battered families; and
- WHEREAS, Ms. Robinson has also worked to build bridges
- 14 through bilingual education; in addition to emphasizing this goal
- 15 with her platform, Viva Texas!, she hopes to teach English abroad;
- 16 and
- WHEREAS, Possessed of exceptional ability and determination,
- 18 Rebecca Robinson gained the admiration of countless people with her
- 19 success at the 2008 Miss Texas Pageant, and she is a most deserving
- 20 winner of this notable title; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate Rebecca Robinson on being named
- 23 Miss Texas and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future;
- 24 and, be it further

H.R. No. 927

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Ms. Robinson as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Dunnam

H.R. No. 927

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

TT	_	7. T	0.27
	-	$N \cap$	α

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 927 was adopted by the House on March 23, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House