H.R. No. 934

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives takes great 2 pleasure in joining the delegation of Leadership Southeast Texas 3 members who represent 120 Southeast Texas businesses, organizations, and governmental entities in recognizing March 23, 4 5 2009, as Leadership Southeast Texas Day at the State Capitol; and WHEREAS, 6 Leadership Southeast Texas is regional 7 educational nonprofit corporation serving the region that includes Chambers, Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Newton, Orange, and 8 Tyler Counties and the Bolivar Peninsula of Galveston County; and 9 WHEREAS, Founded in 1992, Leadership Southeast 10 11 identifies and motivates leaders in the Southeast Texas region and 12 provides opportunities for leadership development and networking among decision makers and stakeholders, while contributing to 13 14 regional economic advancement; and 15 WHEREAS, This exemplary program boasts an impressive 16 membership of 770 graduates who currently reside and work in 87 cities across Texas, in 23 states, and in Europe, Iraq, China, and 17 Panama; these alumni continue to serve as ambassadors for Southeast 18 Texas and the entire Lone Star State; and 19 WHEREAS, Leadership Southeast Texas promotes a better 20 21 understanding of communities in Southeast Texas by identifying and studying timely issues that are significant to ongoing area 22 23 business development and by encouraging innovative approaches to

those issues; the program also encourages professional interaction

24

1 and communication with our state's prominent leaders; and

statewide basis if we are to progress; and

10

18

19

WHEREAS, In today's globalized society, communities are 2 3 increasingly impacted by national and international economic forces, making it even more essential to stay fully informed and be 4 5 actively involved; local communities are often on the front lines of change, and input is especially valuable as we work to establish 6 the foundations for future progress; because events and needs are 7 8 too often greater than one city or county can address alone, we must view our opportunities, and our challenges, on a regional and 9

WHEREAS, The interdependence of communities in Southeast 11 12 Texas has been demonstrated by the continuing impact from Hurricane Rita in 2005 and Hurricane Humberto in 2006, and most recently by 13 14 Hurricane Ike's catastrophic results in 2007; for the Southeast 15 Texas of the future to continue to grow and thrive, it is imperative 16 that communities appreciate how they support each other and succeed 17 together as a region and as a state; and

WHEREAS, Leadership Southeast Texas Day in Austin provides an opportunity for alumni and new graduates to gather at the Capitol to celebrate the achievements of Southeast Texas, and it is a 20 privilege to recognize these civic-minded men and women for their 21 substantial contributions to the betterment of Texas on the 22 23 program's 17th anniversary; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby recognize March 23, 2009, as Leadership 25 26 Southeast Texas Day at the State Capitol and extend to the members of the visiting delegation best wishes for a productive and 27

H.R. No. 934

- 1 celebratory day and for continued success in their endeavors to
- 2 build collaborations among the current and future leaders of this
- 3 great Southeast Texas region; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the participants in Leadership Southeast Texas as an
- 6 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Otto

## H.R. No. 934

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

<b>TT</b>	_	7. T	$\sim \sim 1$
Н	-	NΩ	934

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 934 was adopted by the House on March 23, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House