H.R. No. 947

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas Board of Nursing has worked to protect and
promote the welfare of Texans for 100 years; and

3 WHEREAS, On March 13, 1909, Governor Thomas Mitchell Campbell 4 signed into law the Nurses Registration Act, establishing the Board 5 of Nurse Examiners, and during the board's first regular meeting 6 later that year, more than 200 applications for nurse registration 7 were considered and approved; and

8 WHEREAS, Licensed vocational nurses became regulated in the 9 1950s with the establishment of the Texas Board of Vocational Nurse 10 Examiners, and regulation of advanced practice nursing began in 11 1980; the Board of Vocational Nurse Examiners eventually merged 12 with the Board of Nurse Examiners, which became the Texas Board of 13 Nursing in 2007; and

14 WHEREAS, The board was granted authority over nursing education early on and instituted a requirement that applicants for 15 16 nurse licensure be graduates of an accredited school approved by the board; in 1950, Texas began using the State Board Test Pool 17 Examination to ensure that Texas nursing graduates were competent 18 to practice in the field, and in 1982, the board adopted the 19 20 National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses; in 21 addition to licensure examinations, the board conducts criminal background checks on all currently licensed Texas nurses, as well 22 23 as candidates for nurse licensure; and

24

WHEREAS, Nurses are the second largest group of licensed

1

H.R. No. 947

professionals in the United States, and Texas alone is home to 1 nearly 86,000 licensed vocational nurses and more than 210,000 2 registered nurses, including nearly 13,000 with advanced practice 3 approval; the state's membership in both the Nurse Licensure 4 5 Compact and the Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Multi-State Compact permits Texas nurses to practice on a temporary basis in 6 other signatory states and their nurses to practice on a temporary 7 8 basis in Texas; and

9 WHEREAS, For a century, the Texas Board of Nursing has 10 provided vital services in behalf of the state's residents, and it 11 is indeed fitting to recognize this noteworthy organization on the 12 occasion of its centennial year; now, therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 14 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Texas 15 Board of Nursing and extend to board members and all others 16 associated with it sincere gratitude for their hard work and 17 dedication; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for the Texas Board of Nursing as an expression of high 20 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

King of Taylor

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 947

Menendez

H.R. No. 947

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 947 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House