H.R. No. 951

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Peter C. Francis has received the 2009 Community
Service Award from the Andrews Chamber of Commerce; and

3 WHEREAS, A resident of Andrews for more than three decades, Pete Francis worked as an agent at Germania Insurance and later 4 5 operated J J's Jewelry; he is currently the proprietor of his own local insurance company, but despite his busy professional life, he 6 7 regularly volunteers his time to numerous community organizations, including the Andrews Chamber of Commerce, the Andrews Industrial 8 9 Foundation, and the Lions Club; a member of the school board for 12 years, Mr. Francis is now the president of the Andrews Independent 10 11 School District Education Foundation, through which he helps raise 12 funds for innovative teaching, staff development, and curriculum enhancement grants; a former Oklahoma State University football 13 player, he supports Andrews ISD athletics, as well, and he often 14 provides commentary for the high school football games on KACT 15 radio; and 16

WHEREAS, Mr. Francis also serves as a deacon at Andrews Church of Christ, and in all of his endeavors, he enjoys the love and support of his wife, Linda, and the couple's two children, Jeff and Jennifer; and

21 WHEREAS, A generous and dedicated citizen, Pete Francis has 22 earned the lasting respect and admiration of all who know him, and 23 he may indeed reflect with great pride on his notable civic 24 contributions; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 951

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Peter C. Francis on his receipt of 3 the 2009 Community Service Award from the Andrews Chamber of 4 Commerce and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued 5 success and happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Francis as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Lewis

H.R. No. 951

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 951 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House