H.R. No. 959

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 welcome the reigning Miss Texas, Rebecca Robinson, the reigning 3 Miss Teen Texas, Sydney Capello, and contestants of the 2009 4 pageants to the State Capitol on March 23, 2009; and

5 WHEREAS, Produced by the Miss Texas Organization, the pageant provides personal and professional opportunities for young women of 6 7 the Lone Star State while promoting their engagement in culture, politics, and community life; since its establishment in 1936, the 8 competition has drawn contestants from across the state to vie for 9 the coveted title of Miss Texas; once named, the winner competes 10 11 with young women from throughout the nation in the Miss America 12 Pageant; and

13 WHEREAS, Joining Miss Texas and Miss Teen Texas are the 14 talented individuals who are participating in the 2009 pageants; Miss Texas contestants are: Miss Arlington Candice Bennatt, Miss 15 16 Austin Area Salina Affram, Miss Carrollton DaNae Couch, Miss Dallas Elise Martinez, Miss Denton County Ivana Hall, Miss East Texas 17 Jessika Williams, Miss El Paso Ruthie Bram, Miss Ellis County 18 Jordan Johannsen, Miss Fort Worth Faith Bates, Miss Frisco Kathryn 19 Dunn, Miss Harris County Kira Morris, Miss Highland Park Cristie 20 21 Kibler, Miss Houston Callie Thompson, Miss Hunt County Christie Ward, Miss Longview Meghan Miller, Miss Metrocrest Cassidy Arend, 22 23 Miss Southeast Texas Amanda Miller, Miss Southlake Brittany Wellsfry, Miss Texarkana Adrianna Nelson, Miss Texas Panhandle 24

H.R. No. 959

- 1 Taylor Lyons, Miss West Texas Tori Morgan, Miss White Settlement
- 2 Nichola Kouzes, and Miss Sherman/Denison Tiffany Weeks; the young
- 3 women competing in the Miss Teen Texas competition are: Miss Teen
- 4 Arlington Kendall Barajas, Miss Teen Carrollton Tauri Cox, Miss
- 5 Teen Dallas Logan McCormick, Miss Teen Denton County Kaparra
- 6 Douglas, Miss Teen Duncanville Nicholle Larson, Miss Teen East
- 7 Texas Rachel Callicutt, Miss Teen Ellis County Reilly Johannsen,
- 8 Miss Teen Fort Worth Kaitlyn Wilson, Miss Teen Harris County Ali
- 9 York, Miss Teen Hunt County Jacye Keil, Miss Teen Longview Laryssa
- 10 Bonacquisti, Miss Teen Metrocrest Angelica Rodriguez, Miss Teen
- 11 Plano Madison Fuller, Miss Teen Rio Grande Valley Kendyl Robbins,
- 12 Miss Teen Southeast Texas Sterling Bishop, Miss Teen Southlake Amy
- 13 Cristiani, Miss Teen Texarkana Lydia Knight, Miss Teen Texas
- 14 Panhandle Jordan Sheets, Miss Teen West Texas Ashton Meeks, Miss
- 15 Teen White Settlement Regan Hunt, and Miss Teen Midland/Odessa
- 16 Elizabeth Pospisil; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Through their involvement, these contestants have
- 18 gained confidence and learned valuable life lessons that will
- 19 benefit them for years to come, and they may indeed look forward to
- 20 the opportunities that lie ahead; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize March 23, 2009, as Miss Texas and Miss
- 23 Teen Texas Day at the State Capitol and extend to Miss Texas Rebecca
- 24 Robinson, Miss Teen Texas Sydney Capello, and the 2009 pageant
- 25 contestants sincere best wishes for a memorable visit.

Hughes

TT	_	TAT -	α E α
Н	\sim	$N \cap$	959

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 959 was adopted by the House on March 23, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House