RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, George Joseph Harrington has served his community as
a valued member of the Del Rio Fire Department for more than 30
years; and

WHEREAS, Joining the volunteer department in 1974, 4 Joe 5 Harrington became a paid firefighter on July 15, 1977, and his has record of service been marked by dedication 6 and 7 professionalism; promoted to lieutenant in 1990, he became the officer in charge of his station during his duty period; in this 8 9 capacity, he assumed responsibility for personnel supervision, station activities, vehicles, and buildings; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Assistant Chief Harrington was again promoted in 12 1996; as captain, he was assigned to the training division and oversaw all continuing education presentations; his tenure saw 13 14 dramatic improvements in the operational efficiency of the division, including conversion to computerized recordkeeping for 15 16 paid and volunteer training systems and the institution of the department's first fire investigation course, which resulted in 17 18 State of Texas Fire Investigator certification for numerous firefighters and department officers; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Based on his excellent organizational and 21 management skills, Assistant Chief Harrington was promoted to 22 oversee operations of C shift, where he supervised lieutenants in 23 charge of stations and coordinated shift operations; following this 24 position, he was assigned to the code enforcement division as a

1

deputy fire marshal charged with investigating fires and supporting
arson prosecutions; and

3 WHEREAS, While working in the code enforcement division, he 4 conducted construction plan reviews to ensure buildings met fire 5 code requirements as well as annual safety investigations of 6 buildings housing large populations with complex regulations or 7 special needs, including the local hospital, jail, and prison; and

8 WHEREAS, Assistant Chief Harrington's extensive knowledge of 9 firefighting and his proven management abilities led to his 10 promotion to assistant chief over the operations division in 2006 11 and a stint as fire marshal from December 2005 until March 2007; and

12 WHEREAS, Recognized for his outstanding work, he was named 13 Firefighter of the Year in 1984, 1991, and 1996; his bravery and 14 devotion to duty also brought him a Medal of Honor for actions 15 during the Del Rio Flood of 1998; and

16 WHEREAS, Those individuals who give of their time and talents 17 to protect their fellow citizens are indeed worthy of all Texans' 18 deepest respect and gratitude, and Joe Harrington may take 19 justifiable pride in his years of service to Del Rio; now, 20 therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 22 Legislature hereby honor George Joseph Harrington for his 23 outstanding tenure with the Del Rio Fire Department and extend to 24 him sincere best wishes for continued success in all of his 25 endeavors; and, be it further

26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 27 prepared for Assistant Chief Harrington as an expression of high

2

1 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 962

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 962 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House