H.R. No. 1002

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Brentfield Elementary School in Dallas was awarded
"Exemplary" status by the Texas Education Agency in 2008; and

3 WHEREAS, To ensure that all students in Texas benefit from the highest standards of education, the TEA instituted 4 an 5 accountability rating system for the state's public schools and districts; a campus gains "Exemplary" status if at least 90 percent 6 of its students pass each of the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and 7 Skills subject area tests, and in 2008, only 12 percent of all 8 schools earned this notable distinction; and 9

WHEREAS, One of 41 elementary schools in the Richardson 10 11 Independent School District, Brentfield Elementary is located in 12 North Dallas, and it serves approximately 600 students in kindergarten through the sixth grade; the mission of the school is 13 14 to prepare independent learners who will become productive citizens of tomorrow; skillfully led by principal Steve Lemons and assistant 15 principal Jill Kelly, Brentfield Elementary has established a solid 16 reputation within the district for its enduring commitment to 17 helping students succeed; and 18

WHEREAS, The teachers and students of Brentfield Elementary have demonstrated outstanding dedication and perseverance in their pursuit of academic excellence, and they may indeed take justifiable pride in the prestigious accolade their school has received from the State of Texas; now, therefore, be it

24

1

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

Legislature hereby honor Brentfield Elementary School on its
achievement of an "Exemplary" rating from the Texas Education
Agency in 2008 and extend to its students, teachers, and staff
sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Kent

H.R. No. 1002

H.R. No. 1002

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1002 was adopted by the House on April 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House