H.R. No. 1011

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Parkhill Junior High School in Dallas was awarded
- 2 "Recognized" status by the Texas Education Agency in 2008; and
- 3 WHEREAS, To ensure that all students in Texas benefit from
- 4 the highest standards of education, the TEA instituted an
- 5 accountability rating system for the state's public schools and
- 6 districts; a campus gains "Recognized" status if at least 75
- 7 percent of its students pass each of the Texas Assessment of
- 8 Knowledge and Skills subject area tests, and in 2008, only 34
- 9 percent of all schools earned this distinction; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Providing instruction for youth in grades seven and
- 11 eight, Parkhill today has an enrollment of approximately 530
- 12 students; under the leadership of principal Judy Marcum, the
- 13 faculty and staff strive to help their pupils realize their full
- 14 academic potential, and the National Center for Educational
- 15 Achievement accorded its "Higher Performing" designation to the
- 16 school in reading and mathematics for 2008-2009, based on College
- 17 and Career Readiness targets; and
- WHEREAS, The teachers and students of Parkhill Junior High
- 19 School have demonstrated outstanding dedication and perseverance
- 20 in their pursuit of academic excellence, and they may indeed take
- 21 justifiable pride in the accolade their school has received from
- 22 the State of Texas; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby honor Parkhill Junior High School on its

H.R. No. 1011

- 1 achievement of a "Recognized" rating from the Texas Education
- 2 Agency in 2008 and extend to its students, teachers, and staff
- 3 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Kent

H.R. No. 1011

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1011 was adopted by the House on April 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House