H.R. No. 1016

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For the third consecutive year, Thurgood Marshall
Elementary School in Dallas was awarded "Recognized" status by the
Texas Education Agency in 2008; and

WHEREAS, To ensure that all students in Texas benefit from 4 5 the highest standards of education, the TEA instituted an accountability rating system for the state's public schools and 6 7 districts; a campus gains "Recognized" status if 75 percent of its students pass each of the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills 8 9 subject area tests, and in 2008, only 34 percent of all schools earned this notable distinction; and 10

11 WHEREAS, The newest addition to the Richardson Independent 12 School District, Thurgood Marshall Elementary opened its doors in August 2005; today, the school provides early childhood education 13 14 as well as instruction through the sixth grade to approximately 530 students, who are collectively known as the "Bulldogs"; under the 15 16 skilled leadership of their principal, Dr. Tonia Alexander, these pupils are encouraged to live by the motto "Be All That You Can Be at 17 18 TME"; and

WHEREAS, The teachers and students of Thurgood Marshall Elementary have demonstrated outstanding dedication and perseverance in their pursuit of academic excellence, and they may indeed take justifiable pride in the accolade their school has received from the State of Texas; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

1 Legislature hereby honor Thurgood Marshall Elementary School on its 2 achievement of a "Recognized" rating from the Texas Education 3 Agency in 2008 and extend to its students, teachers, and staff 4 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Kent

H.R. No. 1016

H.R. No. 1016

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1016 was adopted by the House on April 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House