H.R. No. 1018

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Carolyn G. Bukhair Elementary School in Dallas was
awarded "Recognized" status by the Texas Education Agency in 2008;
and

WHEREAS, To ensure that all students in Texas benefit from the highest standards of education, the TEA instituted an accountability rating system for the state's public schools and districts; a campus gains "Recognized" status if 75 percent of its students pass each of the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills subject area tests, and in 2008, only 34 percent of all schools earned this notable distinction; and

11 WHEREAS, One of 41 elementary schools in the Richardson 12 Independent School District, Carolyn G. Bukhair Elementary serves 690 students in the first through sixth grades, and it is skillfully 13 14 led by principal Candace Judd and assistant principal Melinda Schwartz; operating under its core values, the school presents a 15 16 challenging academic program that recognizes diversity and involves every staff member in the education of each child, and it 17 builds a lasting partnership with parents and the community as a 18 whole; and 19

WHEREAS, The teachers and students of Carolyn G. Bukhair Elementary have demonstrated outstanding dedication and perseverance in their pursuit of academic excellence, and they may indeed take justifiable pride in the accolade their school has received from the State of Texas; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1018

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor Carolyn G. Bukhair Elementary School on 3 its achievement of a "Recognized" rating from the Texas Education 4 Agency in 2008 and extend to its students, teachers, and staff 5 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Kent

H.R. No. 1018

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1018 was adopted by the House on April 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House